Levels of Meditation

The process of meditation is often divided into stages called jhanas. These stages are states of concentration that are seen as part of the journey towards enlightenment. The jhanas can be categorized into two groups;

  1. Rupa Jhanas (Material Jhanas)
    First Jhana; In this stage there is an sustained focus on the object of meditation accompanied by feelings of joy and pleasure. However there is still some mental activity present.
    Second Jhana; This stage goes deeper with an intense and focused concentration, characterized by joy and pleasure without the initial active engagement of the mind.
    Third Jhana; Joy diminishes in this stage giving way to a pleasant sensation. The mind becomes calmer.
    Fourth Jhana; This stage represents a state of equanimity and mindfulness where both pleasure and pain fade away.
  2. Arupa Jhanas (Immaterial or Formless Jhanas)
    Fifth Jhana (Base of Infinite Space); Moving beyond sensations the meditator contemplates boundless space.
    Sixth Jhana (Base of Infinite Consciousness); Here the meditator directs their attention, towards consciousness.
    Seventh Jhana (Base of Nothingness); The focus progresses to experiencing nothingness or emptiness.
    Eighth Jhana (Base of Neither Perception nor Non Perception);
    This state is incredibly subtle and refined referred to as the gateway, to the unconditioned or Nirvana. The jhanas follow a path with each one leading to the next gradually becoming more refined and elusive. However attaining these states necessitates practice unwavering ethical behavior and sometimes guidance from an experienced mentor.

The purpose of practicing the jhanas is to enhance concentration and mindfulness while cultivating insights.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Shopping Cart